113 EAST MARKET STREET - WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH 43160
Ph 740.335.6170 ~ FAX 740.333.3589 ~ Annex 740.333.3504 ~ Jail 740.333.3783
Concealed Carry Permits
Ohio CCW Application Checklist
Applying for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License can be confusing. However, if you follow this Ohio CCW Application Checklist, you can make the process faster and easier.
1. Make sure you meet the basic requirements before applying for your Ohio Concealed Handgun License:
* You must be at least 21 years of age.
* You must be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days.
* You must be a resident of your home county for at
least 30 days.
2. Find a qualified CCW instructor and complete the required 12-hour course to obtain your Certificate of Competency.
* Your Certificate of Competency must be no more than 3 years old to qualify for a concealed handgun license.
Note: Your concealed handgun license will be proof of training for your first license renewal.
* You may also present documentation that proves you are an active or reserve member of the U.S. Military,
you have been honorably discharged from the U.S. Military within the past 6 years, or you are a retired law
enforcement officer and have experience that is equivalent to the training requirements.
3. Read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws. You may get a printed copy during your training course.
4. Locate the sheriff's office in your county (or an adjacent county) and pick up an application for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License - OR go to the sheriff's or Attorney General's website and download the application. An application is included in the CCW handbook.
* NOTE: Do NOT bring a firearm with you when picking up your application.
5. Have a passport-sized (2" x 2") color photo taken within 30 days of your application date.
You may get a passport-sized photo at many photo shops, drug stores, groceries, and similar businesses that
handle photo development. Most sheriff departments will also accept a good quality color photo taken with a
digital camera and printed on a color printer.
6. Applications are processed on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. at the Fayette County Sheriff’s Office Annex Building. Point of Contact: Deputy Robert Russell 740.333.3504
7. Take your documents to the sheriff's office and apply for your license. As part of your application, you must:
* Present your completed application, Certificate of Competency (or documentation of equivalent experience),
and passport-sized color photo.
* Present a valid photo I.D., such as your driver's license.
* Pass a criminal background check and mental competency check.
* Submit to having your fingerprints electronically scanned or inked and rolled onto a card.
* Attest that you have read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws.
* Pay a non-refundable fee by cash, money order, or certified check made payable to your sheriff's office.
The fee is $67.00 if you have been an Ohio resident for more than five years, $91.00 if less than five years.
Please try to bring exact cash with you the day you apply. No personal checks will be accepted.
* Do NOT bring a firearm with you when applying for or picking up your license.
* If you have ever been prohibited from having a weapon under ORC Section 2923.125,
you must provide court documentation granting relief for disability.
(c) 1998 - 2008 Fayette County Sheriff's Office - All rights reserved
Background image is copyrighted by Buckeye State Sheriff's Association. Used with permission